Life You
  • Facebook
    Facebook
  • Twitter
    Twitter
  • Pinterest
    Pinterest
  • +
  • Linkedin
    Linkedin
  • WhatsApp
    WhatsApp
  • Email
    Email
SHARE THIS
  • Facebook
    Facebook
  • Twitter
    Twitter
  • Pinterest
    Pinterest
  • Linkedin
    Linkedin
  • WhatsApp
    WhatsApp
  • Email
    Email

Snapchat just launched a new location sharing feature called Snap Map that will allow users to show their locations or see where their friends are at any given time. You can choose from a number of different privacy settings, including an open function that allows anyone to see the user’s location, a more selective function that allows the user to choose which of their friends can see their location, and ghost mode, where the user’s location remains hidden.

If you don’t use the app for a few hours, the location feature will automatically switch to ghost mode, which will only become active once the user opens Snapchat again. Users can also shut off their own location setting while still being able to track their friends.

To begin using Snap Map, you simply need to pinch the home screen, using two fingers to zoom in and out of your friends’ locations around the world. Users can then tap on their friends’ avatars to see more details about their current locations or message them to meet up.

YouTube

The new Snap Map feature could really do some good and bad at the same time. On one hand, there’s definitely an added element of safety when friends know your location. Being able to see that friends are nearby is also a great way to connect with others in real life.

On the flip side, allowing people to access your location could also put users at risk for a whole slew of reasons. And there could definitely be some hurt feelings if a person checks Snap Map and sees that their friends are hanging out together without them. Sometimes, technology can be a double-edged sword.