Life You
  • Facebook
    Facebook
  • Twitter
    Twitter
  • Pinterest
    Pinterest
  • +
  • Linkedin
    Linkedin
  • WhatsApp
    WhatsApp
  • Email
    Email
SHARE THIS
  • Facebook
    Facebook
  • Twitter
    Twitter
  • Pinterest
    Pinterest
  • Linkedin
    Linkedin
  • WhatsApp
    WhatsApp
  • Email
    Email

At some point in life, we’ve all sent an email that was better off unsent.

Maybe you were drunk, or sticking it to an ex, or maybe you just sent a typo-laden letter off to a prospective employer. We’re all human here, but the result of this mistake is always the same: Immediate panic. Because there’s nothing you can do once that email has been sent.

Luckily for you, Google is changing that.

Gmail is giving all users the option to cancel the delivery of an email within five – 30 seconds of hitting the “send” button, and all you have to do is tweak your settings a little bit. The feature has actually been available for about six years as an experiment, but “Undo send” is now ready for the masses. Here’s how to set it up:

  • Log in to your Gmail account
  • In the top right corner of the screen, click the cog/gear symbol
  • Click Settings
  • At the bottom of the list should be an option to “Enable undo send”
  • Check that box, then select your ideal cancellation time window (5, 10, 20 or 30 seconds)

Voila! You’re now covered. If you ever send an email you don’t want anyone else’s eyes to see, you will have up to 30 seconds to unsend it. After that, you’re out of luck.

Thank you, Google!